bowling

28 Aug

After being shown some wonderful “Don’t judge too quickly” commercials by my fabulous cousin Kay, I was inspired to write about people meeting for the first time for this week’s trifecta challenge. We had to use the word turkey in the bowling sense. Word count: 333
•••
Finally, some me-time. It’s been too long. But… What to DO?
The TV boasts a couple going bowling. I realize I haven’t been since that disastrous double date with Jerky Jim. I wonder if I really hate bowling, or if the game was tainted by my company.

Within the hour, I find myself donning rental shoes (thick socks: a must). I don’t let the mid-fifties man leering at me from two lanes down skeeve me out. Tonight is about me, me alone. No crappy ex-boyfriends, no work, and definitely no creepy lurkers. Me.

Clueless which ball to choose, I pick the prettiest one. I lug it back to my lane and throw it, ungracefully, with two hands. It hops into the gutter, then bounces out and touches one of the mocking white pins, which quivers for a moment (I’m holding my breath) before it, shocker, stays upright.

Sheepishly, I check if anyone saw. A dark-haired man, early twenties, looks my way; I blush. His eyes, an annoyingly penetrating green, remind me of Jim. He smiles. I grimace and turn away. Another lousy attempt (hey, I got a pin!) and I glance at Greeneyes… spotted. Crap.

“I could help you with your form if you want.” Why do I only meet guys with sexy voices on my didn’t-even-bother-to-shower, no-men-allowed-me-day? “I’m Matt, by the way.”

“Sandra. And I think I’ll be fine.” I see his smile fade and add a hasty thank-you (just too late to sound natural). I wince back to my ball, and endure endless crashes of (his) pins clattering to the ground. I’m fed-up with his strikes. He gets another. Three in a row… not that I’m counting.

“Fun fact,” he leans over a counter at me, a stupid grin across his face, “three strikes is called a turkey. Just thought you should know.”

“Why’d ya think that?”

“If I bowl a turkey again, we go to dinner. If I don’t, you bowl in peace. Deal?”

“Done.”

Turns out, bowling’s pretty fun.

10 Responses to “bowling”

  1. KymmInBarcelona August 28, 2013 at 6:21 pm #

    Using this prompt in a pick-up line. You win the extreme trifecta challenge!

  2. Trifecta (@trifectawriting) August 28, 2013 at 7:28 pm #

    That’s one way to win a lady:) Thanks for linking up!

  3. Draug419 August 28, 2013 at 7:45 pm #

    This is great. It’s so delightful.

  4. jannatwrites August 28, 2013 at 8:44 pm #

    This was fun! From forgetting about Jerky Jim, dodging leering dudes, and meeting green eyes, it was great….like the ending too 🙂

  5. Christine August 29, 2013 at 11:58 am #

    I like the light, conversational tone. You did a nice job of including details that made everything feel that much more real.

  6. Jennifer Dillon August 29, 2013 at 12:10 pm #

    Its always on the no shower, leave me alone days that the princes show up! Great write.

    • chloeaevm August 29, 2013 at 12:56 pm #

      Right? How is that fair? Thanks for the comment 🙂

Leave a Reply

