sakura trees

18 Aug

This haiku-ish poem was written for this week’s trifecta challenge, inspired by this photo:

20130818-095307.jpg

So much depends on
The Sakura tree; whose death
Can’t diminish life.

The petals, like snow,
Expire when they reach the ground,
Indomitable.

Time
Takes
Away
The
Vessels
Of
Beauty,
Not
Beauty
Itself.

14 Responses to “sakura trees”

  1. Björn Rudberg (brudberg) August 18, 2013 at 4:30 pm #

    Love how you brought for the poetic sakura… great write

    • chloeaevm August 18, 2013 at 4:33 pm #

      Thanks! Sakura trees are by far my favorite. I lived in Japan for years and they hold a special place in my heart. I’ve always found their traditional symbolism beautiful.

  2. Let's CUT the Crap! August 18, 2013 at 6:53 pm #

    Soft but affirmative.

  3. Jo-Anne Teal (@jtvancouver) August 18, 2013 at 7:40 pm #

    I like how you invoke “The Red Wheelbarrow” at the beginning of your piece. I’ve always like the clean, spareness of that poem. It is a fitting connection to the picture of cherry blossoms that you’ve created. Lovely :))

    • chloeaevm August 18, 2013 at 7:57 pm #

      Thanks. I was wondering if anyone would catch that. It’s a great poem that I really can’t do any justice, but as I couldn’t get it out of my head, I figured I’d nod to it anyway.

    • chloeaevm August 18, 2013 at 7:58 pm #

      Thanks. I was wondering if anyone would catch that. It’s a great poem that I really can’t do any justice, but as I couldn’t get it out of my head, I figured I’d nod to it anyway.

  4. humanTriumphant August 18, 2013 at 9:15 pm #

    “beauty-filled” message

  5. jannatwrites August 18, 2013 at 10:11 pm #

    This was a pleasure to read. I like how time cannot take away the actual beauty.

    • chloeaevm August 18, 2013 at 10:17 pm #

      Thank you so much. I think it is a very comforting worldview.

  6. Draug419 August 18, 2013 at 10:58 pm #

    I love sakura trees and blossoms. This cheered me up.

    • chloeaevm August 18, 2013 at 11:01 pm #

      Ah, I’m glad to hear it 🙂 and I love them too. They’re so pretty!

  7. Christine August 18, 2013 at 11:44 pm #

    Ooo, I love the message in that last stanza. Great job!

Leave a Reply

