JK, I love old people. (Or, can I still do that April thingy thing?)

14 Apr

Well. Isn’t this awkward. I maybe sort of kinda may have possibly missed a day or two on this whole post-a-day challenge thing. But I do have really good excuses!

  1. I was travelling. I ditched school on Thursday (completely forgot that I had to do a presentation in English and make up a Psych test. Whoopsidasies.) because I was able to convince my dad that going until noon just didn’t make sense. I just slept until he took my sisters out of school and I finished packing for California. I had plenty of time. We aimed to leave at 2:30. I was shocked how early we actually left: we were only forty minutes late! Just ponder that. Out the door by 3:10 and the flight was scheduled to take off at five forty. Domestic, too. I’m tellin ya, we had so much time we actually had a sit-down dinner in the airport.
  2. I had family obligations. Staying with old people means that you really can’t say what you REALLY mean. For instance: Oh, schaat*, would you like something to drink? No, Oma**, I’d prefer not to have to think about whether the unidentified brown floaty in the cup you never wash is going to give me food poisoning I’m not really thirsty. I had to spend time with my family, and my grandparents just wouldn’t have understood if I told them I wanted to work on my blog. No, really. They have no idea what a blog is. It took me weeks to teach Oma how to open “the gmail” last year.
  3. I had computer issues. Oma hasn’t had internet access for two months. She couldn’t figure out why. Then again, she also hasn’t called the provider in about half a decade. By Friday night, my dad had called Verizon and had gotten them to fix the internet (and even got my grandparents a cheaper plan, to boot).

So, now that you see I had perfectly reasonable excuses, on to the letters!

J: I sat next to a Japanese chick on the plane here. I mentioned to her that I used to live in Tokyo. She thought it was cool. She lived in Tokyo too, but now she lives in New York. Just riveting, huh?

K: Kill someone. Yup, that’s what I wanted to do when my dad wasn’t picking up the phone. We’d been waiting all day for him to bring back his sister, who he was picking up from the airport, so we could eat and then go to the pool. By the time he got home (after stopping to eat, et cetera) the sun was weak and useless. My hungry, grumpy self couldn’t get over the fact that we’d travelled thousands of miles to California to sit inside playing Canasta. (First world problems, anyone?)

L: Lesbians. This vacation’s new phrase evolved from the playground admonition: “Keep your hands to yourselves; you’re not little elves.” My sisters, Tor and Pigeon, are the type of twins that rarely get along. Yesterday, they were squabbling as usual. I’m not exactly sure what they were doing, but apparently they were being too touchy-feely for my dad. “Keep your hands to yourselves,” he said. “You’re not little lesbians***.” It doesn’t quite rhyme, but it made us laugh.

*schaat is Dutch for… well, actually, I don’t even know. She uses it as a moniker for me, my siblings, my dad, and her dog. I can only assume it’s darling or sweetie or something like that.

**Oma is Dutch for grandmother.

***My dad, though not PC, is very accepting. His two best friends are a gay couple. And, to be perfectly honest, I think if a stranger walked in on the three of them having a conversation, he or she wouldn’t be able to pick out a (stereotypically) straight man among them.

6 Responses to “JK, I love old people. (Or, can I still do that April thingy thing?)”

  1. JulieYouJest April 14, 2013 at 4:44 pm #

    Hi Chloe! I finally posted my Liebster nomination post – Thanks again for the nomination!! Mein Schatz in German is ‘my treasure’ – maybe that’s what your Oma is saying only the Dutch version. Awww.

    • chloeaevm April 24, 2013 at 6:25 pm #

      No problem, thanks for the translation 😀

  2. christine April 15, 2013 at 7:52 am #

    Well, that read made me laugh for a variety of reasons. The asterisk at the bottom were the icing on the post cake. No one can fault you for missing letters when you are staying with old people. 🙂
    Good luck with the rest of the alphabet!

    • chloeaevm April 24, 2013 at 6:23 pm #

      Thank you so much, I’m glad you liked it!

  3. Joyce April 20, 2013 at 11:24 pm #

    So now you’re caught up . . . almost.

    http://joycelansky.blogspot.com

    • chloeaevm April 24, 2013 at 6:24 pm #

      Haha. Regrettably I think I’m going to have to call it quits this year.

Leave a Reply

