april fool’s day

1 Apr

Alright, maybe it’s a bit of a cheat to start off my April A to Z challenge with April Fools’ Day, but I love this holiday. So many more mature people dislike or even hate it, but I can’t bring myself to loathe something so lightheartedly mischievous.

My favorite April Fools’ Day pranks by far were, of course, Google’s Google Nose and the lovely treasure map on Google Maps. I actually kind of hope Google Maps keeps the simulated treasure map for good. I made sure to take a peek at the city I consider my home, Tokyo, as soon as I noticed the jillions of trees that surrounded my current area (which actually is all there is to see here). To my enjoyment, there were endearing little cartoonish pictures of famous sites like Fuji san and Tokyo Tower. I climbed Fuji once, as the old adage goes: “He who climbs Mt. Fuji is a wise man; he who climbs twice is a fool.” I never got around to paying about forty bucks for an elevator ride to the top of Tokyo Tower, which looks exactly like a short red Eiffel Tower. (Okay, the earthquake two years ago dented it, so unless they fixed it in my absence, now it’s a short, red, crooked Eiffel Tower.) I’m okay with just enjoying it from afar.

Today I tried my hand at pranks. I told my friend Shmands that Tanman, a mutual friend, had asked me to prom. I got a great reaction. She was super happy for me, and it made me feel a little bad to tell her that it was a joke. When I told the story to Irish, who knows both, I laughed and said that now I didn’t need to get asked to prom because I already got the great reaction. I was only mostly joking.

When I got home, I almost forgot to prank my sisters. Originally, I wanted to buy a bunch of Oreos and replace the cream filling with toothpaste. Since I was too lazy and too cheap to follow through, I attempted to recreate my prom prank.

I smiled as if I were really happy, then told my sister Tor the news. Within seconds, she called the prank. Disgruntled, I asked her how she knew.

“You were smiling!” she said.

I countered by reminding her that if I got asked to prom, I would be happy.

Then she won with the simple phrase: “I just knew it wouldn’t happen.” Ouch.

Don’t worry, though. I got her back by stealing her phone and reading her texts to her boy-toy. Hehehe.

4 Responses to “april fool’s day”

  1. Chocolate & Morphine April 2, 2013 at 1:39 am #

    Ah, the joy of messing with your siblings! I have two younger brothers (12 and 14). They are the perfect ages to pull one over on. The 14-year-old is particularly gullible. I don’t remember the last thing I did to him, but he’s a good sport and takes it all in stride.

    I love that you pranked people by sharing fake good news. So many pranks are based on negativity: I even had some “news” come through my Facebook feed saying that Stephen King (author) had died. He’s alive and well, and people are very upset about the prank. It’s refreshing to see a positive spin on pranking.

    • chloeaevm April 2, 2013 at 6:15 pm #

      Oh, how fun! My little sisters are both thirteen so we’re in about the same boat. I think it has something to do with the beginning of adolescence making them super insecure and, therefore, completely gullible. I love it. (Then again, I’m particularly gullible myself…)
      Aha I agree! Oh that’s a pretty awful prank. You should never mess with death. The only issue with sharing fake good news is that after the prank is over, it leaves you both a bit upset that it hadn’t really happened! Thanks for stopping by.

  2. Dee April 2, 2013 at 3:15 pm #

    Thanks for sharing your april fools day. I chuckled πŸ˜€ Thanks for the smile. I hope you do get asked to the prom. Happy a to z my friend.

    • chloeaevm April 2, 2013 at 6:16 pm #

      Always happy to provide a laugh! Trust me, I hope so too! Thanks for stopping by πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

